Here are the Books I’m Selling my Soul for in 2017

Y’ALL. There are so freaking many books that I can’t wait to get my hands on this year. I mean, let’s be real, some of these covers alone can be bought for #bookstagram worthy-ness. All the flowers. I’m swooning.

I swear I need to get one of those super cute fainting couches from the Victorian era. Granted those were for whalebone corsets stitched up to tight, but over-excitement from pretty books can be just as breathtaking.

I’m serious.

In case your TBR shelf isn’t toppling over already, I’ve rounded up fifteen of the books that I’m super-duper excited for right now. I hope you’ll add some to your Goodreads (because we all know that’s pretty much the greatest website on earth) and then tweet me some recs too!

Happy reading.
xoxo,
Jackie

One. 
WHY I’M SUPER PUMPED: In the words of the great artist Paramore “I’m in the business of misery” + besides that I’ve heard some interesting things about what the trauma inflicted that caused out main girl to dash off is. Of course, it also doesn’t hurt that this cover is one of my favorites ever planted on the face of a work of fiction. Ever. 
Two.
WHY THIS BOOK LOOKS SO DANG INTRIGUING: First off, it’s Rachel Vincent. SOUL SCREAMERS. Gah. Yes, please. *whisper screams* I love yoooou. Second- the name Trigger? Swoon. Third? “There’s a price for standing out.” Tell me the price and no one gets hurt. 
Three
UGH, BABE, LET ME TELL YOU WHY I NEED THIS BOOK: This book like a bubble of fantastic confusion all wrapped up in a nice, diverse bow. Sounds like just what this community needs after everything. (and no, I’m not going to name all the disgusting, cringe-worthy things that are going on in this big wide world right now. 
Four.
THIS IS WHY THIS IS IMPORTANT: I write about Sex in YA, date rape drugs, and how no means no + only freaking yes means yes. These are things that light a fire in my soul. In the vein of THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES, and THE WAY I USED TO BE–y’all I have to read it. I have to, I hate to, I have to. 
Five.
LET ME TELL YOU A FEW THINGS: Heeeeeeell yes I want to read a book set in the 90’s about rockstar dreams and FRIENDSHIP and that cover? Oh that cover is just the cherry on top of the please buy me this book sundae. 

Six.
I WANT IT BECAUSE: I just really, really love magic. Sparks and burns and the earth. Sisters and curses. Things not being all that they seem. GAH. This book cannot be published soon enough. I mean, AUGUST? Are you trying to kill me? 
Seven
LEMME TELL YOU A FEW THINGS, LOVE: Dang, I mean I guess I just have a thing for books that drag you into the darkest, deepest pit of despair and then revive you. It’s hopeful, and tearful. I hope it lives up to my expectations, because they are incredibly high. Let me tell you. 
Eight. 
Y’ALL DO YOU SEE THIS: Renee Ahdieh’s review on Goodreads says-and I quote– “If you are haunted by the idea of a dark, modern fairy tale and knights in shining armor with Harleys for horses, this book is for you.” Need I say more? I mean really
Nine.
DON’T YOU WANT A BOOK WITH SOUL EATERS: Who freaking abandons their daughters in the forest? I mean, can we all just agree that that is rude? Of course, who freaking morphs into something not quite human? I love the not quite human. They’re my FAVE.  Book; come to mama. 
Ten.
ALL THE REASONS: Why, yes, I do love to read about space adventures even though actually going into the great, vast, never-ending, infinite outer space. *shudders* I mean that just freaks me the eff out. I mean imagine just floating…your touching nothing…you’ll run out of air, eventually. Worst nightmare. Whoo. Got off on a tangent there, didn’t I? Anyways girls kissing girls and being badass space pirates sounds hella cool. 
Eleven.
RAISE YOUR HANDS IF YOU’RE HERE FOR MORE TRAGEDY: When a fight in the ring goes horribly, terribly wrong, nothing in anyone’s life is ever going to be the same ever again…Why yes I would love to see how recovery turns to healing and then into romance. I am so very much here for that. 
Twelve. 
WHO DOESN’T LOVE A GOOD CULT NOVEL: Cult culture scares the crap out of me just as much as they fascinates me. The cult leader’s daughter- Eden- is a FBI Agent now. So obviously she’s incredibly strong and brave and just YES GIRL FOR EMBRACING OPPORTUNITIES AND CONQUERING EVIL. So mysterious. 
Thirteen. 
APPARENTLY ANGELS AREN’T ALL THEY SEEM AND THIS NOVEL: “My guardian angel is a drunk.” Pardon me while I just roll on the floor howling with laughter
Fourteen. 
I WANT THIS BECAUSE: I want this because it’s an important story. This one may be fictional, but there are so many that are similar in this world that ring the same wretched tune. We need to change that. To change it, empathy is needed. Books grant that unique ability. Also, Angie is just the bestest. 
Fifteen.
I AM SQEUEALING. THIS IS THE BOOK MY WHOLE LIFE HAS BEEN BUILDING UP TO. There there are two dudes and a girl. The guys have been put on a mission to have said girl fall in love with one of them. So their rivals, right? BUT THEN SOMETHING HAPPENS. They make fun of YA book tropes, and they end up falling for each other. Oh, your training didn’t prepare you for this, boys. *cackles*
Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Here are the Books I’m Selling my Soul for in 2017

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s